IWMF Announces 2023 Wallis Annenberg Justice for Women Journalists Award Winner

The International Women’s Media Foundation (IWMF) today announced the winners of the 34th annual Courage in Journalism Awards, which recognize women journalists working under duress to bring truth to light. The 2023 honorees are María Teresa Montaño Delgado, a veteran Mexican journalist covering widespread corruption in political power; the women journalists of The Washington Post reporting from the frontlines of Ukraine in 2022; and, posthumously, Shireen Abu Akleh, a Palestinian American career broadcast journalist who reported from the Middle East for decades and was killed in 2022.

Iranian photojournalist Yalda Moaiery was awarded the 2023 Wallis Annenberg Justice for Women Journalists Award, which is given annually to a journalist who is unjustly jailed, detained or imprisoned. Moaiery is currently facing trial in Iran for covering anti-state protests in Tehran.

In its third decade, the IWMF’s Courage in Journalism Awards remind the public of the cost, and benefit, of working as a woman journalist and the increasing threat facing press freedom worldwide. As challenges mount outside of conflict zones and into the online sphere, women in news media also work against additional, intentional campaigns of discreditation and intimidation simply because of their gender.

“For this year's Courage Award winners, any reporting – no matter the nature or the medium – presents a risk to their careers, their lives and even the well-being of their families. Their existence as truth tellers amid a sea of disinformation and public, state-sanctioned efforts to silence their voices is a true act of bravery.”
Elisa Lees Muñoz
Executive Director, IWMF

Related News


Shin Daewe Receives 2024 Wallis Annenberg Justice for Women Journalists Award


White House Press Secretaries Committee Forms in Support of Fallen Journalists Memorial


Yalda Moaiery Accepts Wallis Annenberg Justice for Women Journalists Award in LA