White House Press Secretaries Committee Forms in Support of Fallen Journalists Memorial

The Fallen Journalists Memorial Foundation today announced the formation of a White House Press Secretaries Committee in support of the Fallen Journalists Memorial. The committee, which is co-chaired by former White House Press Secretaries Dee Dee Myers (President Bill Clinton) and Dana Perino (President George W. Bush) includes former White House Press Secretaries dating from the Johnson to Biden administrations.

The committee serves as a bipartisan voice in support of a permanent public memorial dedicated to press freedom as it honors journalists and photojournalists who have lost their lives while in pursuit of truth. The memorial will be built at the National Mall in Washington, D.C., and is in the early design stages.

In addition to the Co-Chairs, members of the White House Press Secretaries Committee includes: Bill Moyers (President Lyndon B. Johnson), Ron Nessen (President Gerald R. Ford), Marlin Fitzwater (President George H.W. Bush), Mike McCurry, Joe Lockhart, and Jake Siewert (President Bill Clinton), Ari Fleischer and Scott McClellan (President George W. Bush), Robert Gibbs, Jay Carney, and Josh Earnest (President Barack Obama), Gov. Sarah Huckabee Sanders, Stephanie Grisham, and Kayleigh McEnany (President Donald Trump), and Jen Psaki (President Joe Biden).

“As the White House Correspondents Association comes together this weekend, it is very powerful to have these dedicated public servants join this effort. Their combined voices underscore the necessity of a free and independent press. We thank them and look forward to working together as the process moves forward.”
David Dreier
Chairman, Fallen Journalists Memorial Foundation

The Annenberg Foundation is proud to be a seed funder for this powerful monument, dedicated to fallen journalists and photojournalists.

Read the press release from our friends at the Fallen Journalists Memorial Foundation →

Related News


Yalda Moaiery Accepts Wallis Annenberg Justice for Women Journalists Award in LA


IWMF Announces 2023 Wallis Annenberg Justice for Women Journalists Award Winner


Annenberg Foundation Supports Historic Renovation of the Annenberg School of Communication